GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE Minutes from January 24th, 2019

- The meeting began at 1pm with the following committee members in attendance: President Jose Cruz, Joseph Fera, Duane Tananbaum, Rebecca Rivera, Marie Marianetti, Amanda Sisselmanborgia, and Susan Markens.
- The minutes from the November 29th, 2018 meeting were unanimously approved.
- Rebecca Rivera was nominated and elected as Governance Committee Secretary.
- The following agenda items for the February 6th Senate meeting were discussed: the election of a chair to serve in the absence of the President, the election of a faculty member to the Governance Committee to fill the vacancy left by Professor Tananbaum, and the Senate resolution regarding the College's Middle-States Self-Study report.
- The committee discussed the dates for committee nomination solicitation and the Senate at-large nominations/elections. The following target dates were agreed upon:
 - Senate Committee Solicitations: March 15th March 31st
 - At-Large Nominations: April 1st April 15th
 - At-Large Elections: May 1st May 15th.
- The committee discussed several issues related to the two elections. These included concerns that candidates nominated to the senate/its committees are not willingly to serve as well as the concern over the electronic ballot being inaccessible again after opening it. Duane explained that this was an IT issue that needed to be addressed. Joe Fera will set up a meeting with John Dono to discuss these concerns and invite members of the Governance committee to participate in the conversation.
- President Cruz announced that he will step down from the Governance Committee and appoint Lehman's new Provost, Peter Nwosu, to serve as the committee's administrative representative.
- President Cruz excused himself from the meeting so that Governance Committee could nominate a slate of faculty to serve on Academic Assessment Council (AAC).
- After discussion, the committee chose 12 nominations to present and send to President Cruz via email. (The text of the email sent to President Cruz is included below.)
- The committee discussed Spring 2019 meeting dates as followed: February 21, March 21, and April 4. (The February 21st meeting was subsequently changed to February 14th.)
- The meeting adjourned at 2pm.

Email to President Cruz re: AAC Nominations

Dear President Cruz.

Please accept the following list of nominees for the AAC on behalf of the Governance Committee:

Maryam Bamshad-Alavi Ileana Carillo Mario DiGangi Claudette Gordon Sharon Jordan Bret Maney Zoila Morell Nikolaos Papanikolaou Ruby Phillips Anne Rothstein Evan Senreich Devrim Yavuz

Best, Joe