Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation
search this website
search this website

Lehman College Logo Click Here to go back to Homepage

Department of Earth Environmental and Geospatial Sciences

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Yuri Gorokhovich

Yuri GorokhovichRank: Associate Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 301A
Phone: 718-960-1981
E-mail: yuri.gorokhovich@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Geology, natural hazards and disasters, spatial modeling with GIS, geoarchaeology 
More info

 Irene Leung 

Irene LeungRank: Professor Emeritus
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 318
Phone: 718-960-8572
E-mail: irene.leung@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Mineralogy, petrology, diamonds, meteorites & planetary science 
More info

Juliana Maantay

Juliana MaantayRank: Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 325
Phone: 718-960-8574 
E-mail: juliana.maantay@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Environmental health justice, medical geography, geographic information science, urban environmental analysis, sustainable community-based development, participatory geographic information systems
More info

Elia Machado

Elia MachadoRank: Associate Professor
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 323
Phone: 718-960-1103
E-mail: elia.machado@lehman.cuny.edu

Interests: Global Environmental Change (GEC), Vulnerability and Risk Analysis, Natural Hazards, Mitigation and adaptation strategies for GEC, Land use-cover change, GIS and RS applications for Earth Monitoring, Vector-Borne diseases associated with GEC, Remote Sensing, Spatial Analysis, and GIS.

More info


Hari Pant

Hari PantRank: Associate Professor, Department Chairperson
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 309A
Phone: 718-960-5859
E-mail: hari.pant@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Biogeochemical cycles, sediment/water quality, ecological indicators, global change
More info

Fred Shaw

Fred ShawRank: Professor Emeritus
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 309
Phone: 718-960-8565
E-mail: fcshaw@verizon.net
More info

 

 

Adjunct Faculty and Research Assistants

 

Holly Porter Morgan

Holly Porter MorganAdjunct Professor
Professor, LaGuardia Community College, Program Director for Environmental Sciences; Research Associate, New York Botanical Garden
E-mail: hporter-morgan@lagcc.cuny.edu
Interests: Confluence of plant science, spatial analyses, and conservation, biogeographic and computational models that combine herbarium specimen data with climate and environmental data in a GIS environment to predict the distributions of rare and threatened plants

Andrew Maroko

Andrew MarokoRank: Associate Professor, Graduate School of Public Health & Health Policy
Phone: 646-364-9508
E-mail: andrew.maroko@sph.cuny.edu
Interests: Health geographics, medical geography, environmental justice, environmental health, exposure assessment, spatial analysis, geographic information science

https://sph.cuny.edu/about/people/faculty/andrew-maroko/

https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=VxSi2DwAAAAJ&hl=en

Angelika Winner

Angelika WinnerDoctoral Program, Earth Sciences and Geography, Adjunct instructor 
Interests: Sustainable agriculture and alternative food movements, international political economy of food, politics of obesity, environmental health, political ecology, race and food, critical human geography, and participatory GIS



Rose Jimenez

Rose JimenezNOAA-CREST Research Fellow; Earth & Environmental Sciences Doctoral Student
Research Interests: Green Infrastructure, Urban Agriculture, Critical Geographies
E-Mail: rjimenez@gradcenter.cuny.edu
More info




Shannon Doherty

Shannon Doherty Adjunct Lecturer, Weather and Climate Project Development Coordinator, NYC Parks

Interests: atmospheric science, clouds, air pollution, climate change politics, environmental stewardship, horticulture, sustainable art, data visualization

Email: Shannon.Doherty@lehman.cuny.edu

George Musa

George Musa Adjunct Assistant Professor

Medical Geography, Mental Health, Public Health, Global Health, Substance Use, Child and Adolescent Health, Environmental Health, Geostatistical Methods

Email: George.Musa@NYSPI.Columbia.edu

 

 

Senior College Laboratory Technician

Brian Morgan

Brian MorganRank: Senior College Laboratory Technician
Office: Gillet Hall, Room 322A
Phone: 718-960-5742
E-mail: brian.morgan@lehman.cuny.edu
Interests: Psychogeography, aesthetics and radical cartography, the geography of 20th Century culture, art, and literature, historical mapping, cartography as art.
More Info

 

Administrative Staff

Gail Markbreit

Gail MarkbreitOffice: Gillet Hall, Room 315
Phone: 718-960-8660
E-mail: gail.markbreit@lehman.cuny.edu