Political Works from the Collection of El Museo del Barrio
July 1 — October 2, 1993

Luis Camnitzer, Robert Coane, Frank Espada,
Rafael Ferrer, Antonio Frasconi, Marina Gutiérrez, Lorenzo Homar,
Carlos Irizarry, Alfredo Jaar, Lizette Lugo, Antonio Maldonado, Antonio Martorell,
Leopoldo Méndez, Fernando Salicrup, Jos Sánchez, Jorge Soto, and Mariana Yampolsky

Curated by
Susana Torruella Leval,
Chief Curator and Acting Director, El Museo del Barrio

Alfredo Jaar, Terra Non Decoperta (Undiscovered Land), 1991



We are fortunate in having this opportunity to present works from the permanent collection of El Museo del Barrio to our audience—both the Lehman campus and the larger Bronx community. I would particularly like to thank Susana Torruella Leval, the Acting Director and Chief Curator of El Museo del Barrio, for her enthusiastic acceptance of our proposal for this collaboration and for her extraordinary selection of work for us. This exhibition will also provide a basis for educational programming, a significant part of our mission.

The cooperative efforts of so many people have made this exhibition possible. I would particularly like to thank Marcela Clavijo for her assistance and to acknowledge the work of Miriam Basilio, Nellie Escalante, Karen Baji and Ignascio Villeta. I am also greatly indebted to Skowmon Hastanan for her brochure design and coordination of the exhibition for Lehman and to Christopher Priore and Mary Ann Siano for their assistance.

Support for exhibitions and education programs at the Lehman College Art Gallery is provided by The Department of Cultural Affairs in cooperation with the Bronx Borough President's Office, The New York State Council on the Arts, The National Endowment for the Arts, The New York City Board of Education, AT&T, Merck Company Foundation, The Bronx Council on the Arts, the Herbert and Edith Lehman Foundation, the Robert Lehman Foundation, the Greentree Foundation, the Joyce Mertz-Gilmore Foundation, The Bronx Alumni Arts Society, and the Friends of the Lehman College Art Gallery.

Susan Hoeltzel
Acting Director