index du site, recherche
Océan Atlantique
Antilles / Caraïbes
la Méditerranée
Océan Indien
Océan Pacifique
Littérature - index
Odette Roy Fombrun
« île en île » - page d'accueil

Rename the Island:
Quisqueya, not Hispaniola

"Quisqueya" honors Taino culture whereas "Hispaniola" recalls the Amerindian genocide

Born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti on June 13, 1917, Odette Roy Fombrun is a graduate in education from Haiti's Ecole Normale d'Institutrices. Founder of the first Haitian pre-school, she is the author of numerous works on education, history, and civic affairs as well as novels and short stories for children. Her historical works include Ayiti of the Indians (L'Ayiti des Indiens, Port-au-Prince: Deschamps, 1992) as well as The Flag and the Arms of the Republic (Le Drapeau et les Armes de la République, Port-au-Prince: Deschamps, 1989).
Inspired by the peasant custom of the coumbite (konbite), she proposes "Konbitism" as the base for a unifying social contract. Mrs. Fombrun has been a Citizen of the World since 1981. For further information, see <www.lehman.cuny.edu/ile.en.ile/paroles/fombrun.html>

By Odette Roy Fombrun

September 2000

     The Republic of Haiti and the Dominican Republic share a Caribbean island, one of the four islands of the Greater Antilles that the Tainos, before Columbus's arrival, called Haiti, Bohio or Quisqueya – meaning "Mountainous Land" or "Great Land." The island was baptized La Isla Española (Hispaniola) by the Spanish colonizers. French colonizers subsequently called it Saint-Domingue. When proclaiming its independence on January 1, 1804, the Western part of the island of Saint Domingue took back the Amerindian name of Haïti (Ayiti). From that date on, the entire island was known throughout the world as the island of Haiti.

     In 1930, to avoid confusion between the name of the Republic of Haiti and that of the entire island, the U.S.G.B. (United States Geographic Board) decided, unilaterally, to name the island Hispaniola in homage to the Spanish colonizer, thereby erasing all traces of the Amerindians who occupied the island before the arrival of Christopher Columbus. Unfortunately, Haitian and Dominican authorities of the time did not protest this decision with enough force or perseverance, nor did they mobilize any interested parties against this assassination of the island's Amerindian past. It is important to rectify this serious error as soon as possible: the Taino martyrs deserve immortality.

     Such was the opinion of the historian Edmond Mangonès in 1934. At a conference held in Montevideo, he vehemently protested the arbitrary decision of the USGB that completely ignored the historical truths of the island (see the Bulletin de la Société d'Histoire et de Géographie d'Haïti, Vol 5, No. 15, Juillet 1934; see also Odette Roy Fombrun, L'Ayiti des Indiens (1992: 138,139)).

     At a time when the Caribbean moves toward unification, when Europe speaks of sponsoring only those projects that take into account both parts of the island, and at a time when bilateral activities are planned in the tourism industry to take advantage of the Amerindian cultural heritage, it is important to adopt for our island a name recalls not the genocide of its aboriginal people, but rather a name that recalls the past of resistance to oppression, a past shared by the Dominican Republic and the Republic of Haiti. These two Republics cannot renounce their valiant Amerindian ancestors such as Caonabo, Hatuey and Cotubanama, nor can they forget the abominable massacres of Vega Real and of Xaragua, the murder of Queen Anacaona, nor the triumph of Cacique Henri, as Marie-Hélène Laraque has shown in her life's work devoted to the study of the cultural heritage of the American Indians. Laraque's research has shown that the first Agreement signed between the Americas and Europe was The Treaty of Cacique Henri (Le Traité du Cacique Henri) in the 16th Century. Spain had to send an ambassador to meet with the Cacique. The emperor Charles the Fifth sent Barrio Nuevo as his delegate to sign the Agreement with Henri. Thus, the first Treaty ever signed in the Americas was signed on this island in the 16th Century. It was The Treaty of the Cacique Henri (Traité du Cacique Henri). It recognizes the right of freedom to the Cacique Henri and to his fellow companions.

     In memory of this important history we share, I call upon:

It is time to fight against this name that constitutes a serious injustice against these people, recognized as martyred, and a violation of the right of Haitian and Dominican people to their common Taino heritage. The goal of this mobilisation is for the U.S.G.B. to give back to this West Indian island a name that evokes its rich Amerindian heritage. We propose the adoption of:

QUISQUEYA ISLAND

"Quisqueya" recalls Taino culture whereas "Hispaniola" recalls the Amerindian genocide.

"Rename the Island: Quisqueya, not Hispaniola" is a translation by Thomas C. Spear of Odette Roy Fombrun's original essay, "Renommons l'île: Quisqueya, non pas Hispaniola" (December 2000).

© 2000 Odette Roy Fombrun ; © 2003 Odette Roy Fombrun & « île en île » for the translation
all rights reserved

Return:

 
« île en île » - page d'accueil
index du site, recherche
Océan Atlantique
Antilles / Caraïbes
la Méditerranée
Océan Indien
Océan Pacifique
 
tous droits réservés © 2003
http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/ile.en.ile/paroles/fombrun_quisqueya-en.html
mise en ligne : 18 septembre 2003

index du site, recherche
Océan Atlantique
Antilles / Caraïbes
la Méditerranée
Océan Indien
Océan Pacifique
Littérature - index
Odette Roy Fombrun
« île en île » - page d'accueil

Renommons l’île: 
Quisqueya, non pas Hispaniola

Quisqueya évoquera la culture taïno alors qu’Hispaniola évoque le génocide indien

Odette Roy Fombrun est Haïtienne, née à Port-au-Prince le 13 juin 1917, diplômée de l’Ecole Normale d’Institutrices. Fondatrice de la première école préscolaire haïtienne. Auteur de nombreux ouvrages sur l’Education, l’Histoire, le Civisme, ainsi que de romans, contes et nouvelles pour jeunes. Parmi ses oeuvres concernant l’histoire, L’Ayiti des Indiens (Port-au-Prince, Haiti: Editions Deschamps, 1992), ainsi que le Drapeau et les Armes de la République (Port-au-Prince, Haïti: Editions Deschamps, 1989). S’inspirant d’une coutume paysanne, la konbite, elle propose le ’Konbitisme’ comme base d’un contrat social unificateur. Mme. Fombrun est Citoyenne du Monde depuis 1981. Pour plus de renseignments, consultez:  <http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/ile.en.ile/paroles/fombrun.html>

Par Odette Roy Fombrun

Septembre 2000

La République d’Haïti et la République Dominicaine se partagent une île de la Caraïbe, une des quatre Grandes Antilles que les Taïnos, avant l’arrivée de Colomb, appelaient Haíti, Bohio ou Quisqueya – signifiant « Terre montagneuse » ou « Grande terre ». Cette île est baptisée Española (Hispaniola) par les colonisateurs espagnols. Elle est ensuite nommée Saint-Domingue par les colonisateurs français. En proclamant son indépendance le 1er janvier 1804, la partie occidentale de Saint Domingue reprend le nom indien Haïti. Dès lors, l’île entière est désignée mondialement sous le nom « île d’Haïti ».

Pour éviter confusion entre le nom de la République d’Haïti et celui de l’île entière, en 1930 le U.S.G.B. (le « Geographic Board » des États-Unis d’Amérique) décide unilatéralement de la nommer Hispaniola nom qui rend hommage au colonisateur espagnol, et jette dans l’oubli les amérindiens qui occupaient l’île à l’arrivée de Christophe Colomb. Malheureusement les dirigeants haïtiens et dominicains de l’époque n’ont pas protesté avec force et persévérance, ni mobilisé qui de droit contre cet assassinat du passé indien de l’île. C’est une erreur grave qu’il importe de rectifier au plus tôt: les martyrs taïnos de l’île méritent d’être immortalisés.

C’est une opinion avancée par l’historien Edmond Mangonès en 1934. À une conférence tenue à Montevideo, il a énergiquement protesté contre cette décision arbitraire du U.S.G.B. qui ne tenait aucun compte des données de l’histoire de l’île (voir le Bulletin de la Société d’Histoire et de Géographie d’Haïti, Vol. 5, No. 15, Juillet 1934; voir aussi Odette Roy Fombrun, L’Ayiti des Indiens (1992: 138,139)).

Au moment où la Caraïbe marche vers son unification, où l’Europe envisage de ne supporter que des projets conjoints aux deux pays qui se partagent l’île, au moment où des activités bilatérales sont envisagées dans le secteur touristique pour exploiter l’héritage culturel des Indiens, il importe d’adopter pour notre île non pas un nom qui évoque le génocide des aborigènes, mais un nom qui évoque ce passé de résistance à l’oppression, passé commun à la République Dominicaine et à la République d’Haïti. Elles ne peuvent renier leurs valeureux ancêtres améridiens : Caonabo, Hatuey, Cotubanama, ni oublier les odieux massacres de la Vega Real, du Xaragua, ou le meurtre de la reine Anacaona, ni le triomphe du Cacique Henri, souligné par Marie Hélène Laraque qui a consacré sa vie à étudier les héritages culturels des Indiens d’Amérique. Ses recherches prouvent que le premier Accord signé entre l’Amérique et l’Europe est le Traité du Cacique Henri au 16ème siècle. L’Espagne avait dû envoyer auprès du cacique un ambassadeur. Barrio Nuevo, délégué par l’empereur Charles Quint, signe un Accord avec Henri. Ainsi, le premier Traité signé en Amérique, l’est sur cette île, au 16ème siècle. Il a nom : Traité du Cacique Henri. Il reconnaît le droit à la liberté au Cacique Henri et à ses compagnons de luttes.

En mémoire de cet important passé historique commun, j’en appelle :

Il est temps de combattre cette appellation qui constitue une grave injustice envers une race reconnue martyre et une violation du droit des peuples haítien et dominicain à un héritage taíno commun. Cette mobilisation s’impose pour obtenir que le U.S.G.B. redonne à cette île des Antilles un nom qui évoque son riche héritage indien. Nous proposons d’adopter:

ILE QUISQUEYA

Quisqueya évoquera la culture taïno alors qu’Hispaniola évoque le génocide indien…

© 2000, 2001 Odette Roy Fombrun
tous droits réservés

Pour une traduction de ce texte en anglais, voir « Rename the Island: Quisqueya, not Hispaniola ». En espagnol : « Renombrar la Isla: Quisqueya y no Hispaniola ».

Inédit quand il est mis en ligne sur « île en île », par la suite ce texte d’Odette Roy Fombrun est publié dans la Revue d’Histoire et de Géographie, numéro 206 (2001), pages 52-53.

Retour:

 
« île en île » - page d'accueil
index du site, recherche
Océan Atlantique
Antilles / Caraïbes
la Méditerranée
Océan Indien
Océan Pacifique
 
tous droits réservés © 2001
http://www.lehman.cuny.edu/ile.en.ile/paroles/fombrun_quisqueya.html
mise en ligne:  11 janvier 2001