Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Navigation

Give to Lehman

Lehman College


Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)

The Lehman College School of Education is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) and NCATE had a de facto consolidation on July 1, 2013, and officially became the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).

Where We Are Now

In Fall of 2015, Lehman’s School of Education was re-accredited at both the initial and advanced educator preparation levels.

Thinking Ahead

Thinking ahead about the new CAEP landscape, the Educator Preparation Policy Council, composed of faculty and administrators from across the campus, have been studying CAEP documents and providing guidance to academic departments about shifts in policies and procedures that will need to take place in order to address the new standards. Following the formative review, the next accreditation onsite visit will take place in Spring 2021.

A Brief History
In October of 2002, Lehman College's School of Education was awarded initial NCATE Accreditation. Lehman was the first of the CUNY Colleges to receive this accreditation. Working to meet NCATE standards involved the redesign of all of our educator preparation programs and the development of a comprehensive Professional Development Network with local schools. In Spring 2007, the Division of Education completed its continuing accreditation visit. After a successful visit, in Fall 2007, the NCATE Unit Accreditation Board approved re-accreditation for Lehman's Professional Education Unit through Spring 2014.

The following documents at CAEP websites will provide more information about the new CAEP standards and accreditation process:
SPA Standards and Report Forms
CAEP Accreditation Standards
CAEP Accreditation Handbook

The following initial and advanced educator preparation programs in the School of Education have been nationally recognized:
1. Childhood Education with Bilingual Extension (G)
2. Childhood Education with Bilingual Extension (UG)
3. Early Childhood Education with Bilingual Education (UG)
4. Early Childhood Education (G)
5. Educational Leadership: Building Leader (Advanced, G)
6. English Education: Grades 7-12 (G)
7. Health Education (G):
8. Literacy Studies: Grades 5-12 (Advanced, G)
9. Literacy Studies: Grades Birth–6 (Advanced, G)
10. Mathematics Education: Grades 7-12 (G)
11. Mathematics Education: Grades 7-12 (UG)
12. Science Education: Grades 7-12 (G)
13. Science Education: Grades 7-12 (UG)
14. Social Studies Education: Grades 7-12 (G)
15. Social Studies Education: Grades 7-12 (UG)
16. Special Education Childhood (G)
17. Special Education Early Childhood (G)
18. Special Education Adolescent (G)
19. TESOL (G)