## Meeting of the General Faculty October 4, 2017 Faculty Dining Room Agenda

- Executive Committee UFS Representatives
- Welcome and introduction of new faculty
- Celebration of faculty:
  - cce, tenure and promotion to Associate Professor
  - promotion to Full Professor
  - new departments and new department chairs
  - ombudsman
- Election of member of Faculty Elections Committee
  - nominee: Katherine Burt (Health Sciences)
- President Report President José Luis Cruz
- Provost Report Interim Provost Harriet Fayne
- Enrollment Report Associate Provost Reine Sarmiento
- CUNY policy on final grade deadline
- PSC Report Prof. Robert Farrell
- UFS Report Prof.
- Next Meeting November 29, 2017, East Dining Room

**Executive Committee of the General Faculty** 

Juan DelaCruz (Secretary) Alicia Georges Jack Henning Teresita Levy Vincent Prohaska (Chair) Anne Rice Duane Tananbaum **University Faculty Senate Representatives** 

Ayanna Alexander-Street, 2019 Judith Dunker, 2020 David Hyman, 2020 Andrei Jitianu, 2018 Humberto Lizardi, 2018\* Justine McGovern, 2020 Natasha Nurse, 2018\* **Anne Rice**, 2019 Janette Tilley, 2018 Ruth Wangerin, 2018\* \*alternates

## **New Faculty**

Mila Burns (LALPRS) Jonathan Ehrenberg (Art) David Font-Navarrete

(Music, Multimedia, Theatre & Dance) Umrao Sethi (Philosophy)

Andrew Alto (Health Sciences) Ileana Carillo (Health Sciences) Andrew Kim (Health Sciences) Sandra Maldonado (Nursing) Nicole Saint-Louis (Social Work) Melissa Deri (Chemistry) Joseph Fera (Math) Jack Henning (Biology) **Richard Lahijani** (Economics & Business) Adam McCabe (Biology) Sean Stein Smith (Economics & Business) Liang Zhao (Computer Science) Sonjae Wallace (Chemistry)

Michelle Ehrenpreis (Library) Stephen Walker (Library)

## **CCE/Tenure + Promotion**

Jane Cleland (English) Alexandra Coller (Languages and Literatures) David Hyman (English) Penny Prince (Music, Multimedia, Theatre, and Dance) Delfina Evelyn Duran Urrea (Languages and Literatures)

Orlando Alonso (MHSE) Rosa Rivera-McCutchen (CLLSE)

**Danna Ethan (Health Sciences)** 

Juan De La Cruz (Economics and Business) Sameh Fakhouri (Computer Science) Thomas Kurtzman (Chemistry) Cameron McNeil (Anthropology) Rossen Petkov (Economics and Business)

**Rebecca Arzola (Library)** 

## **Promotion to Professor**

**Thomas Inde (Languages and Literatures)** 

Julie Maybee (Philosophy)

Cecelia Cutler (MHSE)

Elhum Haghighat (Political Science)

Andrei Jitianu (Chemistry)

**Christa Salamandra (Anthropology)** 

**New Departments – New Department Chairs** 

Journalism and Media Studies (Thomas O'Hanlon, Chair) Music, Multimedia, Theatre, and Dance (Janette Tilley, Chair)

**Computer Science (Brian Murphy, Chair)** 

Janet DeSimone (CLLSE)

**Danna Ethan (Health Sciences)** 

Kofi Benefo (Sociology) Nicholas Hanges (Mathematics) Hari Pant (EEGS) Ombudsman

Alan Kluger (Psychology)