Give to Lehman

Lehman College

Department of Philosophy

Philosophy at Lehman

Below are some of the initiatives and prizes sponsored or supported by the Philosophy Department.

Philosophy Club

The Lehman College Philosophy Club is a society of students united by a passion for philosophical thought. The club organizes events and meetings for the entire college community, including the 'Talk Philosophy' student discussion groups, the 'Philosophy in Film' series, and talks by faculty from Lehamn and from other colleges. Members do not have to be philosophy majors. You can sign up for information about their events by 'liking' their Facebook page here.

Phi Sigma Tau - Chapter Lamda Chi

Phi Sigma Tau is the International Honors Society in Philosophy. The aims of Phi Sigma Tau are expressed in the Greek motto "Philounton Sophian Timay," which means “the honor of those who love wisdom.” The society exists to award distinction to students who have high achievements and personal interest in the subject of philosophy, to promote student interest in research and advanced study in the field, to facilitate the publication of student research, to encourage a professional spirit and friendship among those who have a marked ability in the field, and to promote philosophy among the general collegiate public.

Students interested in joining Phi Sigma Tau must have completed three semesters of collegiate work generally and have completed two semester-length courses in the philosophy department, with a minimum 3.0 GPA in those courses. Interested students should contact Prof. James Mahon.

The Jerome Weinstock Essay Prize

The Jerome Weinstock Essay Prize is an annual prize that honors the best paper written for a philosophy course. The paper can be on any topic. The entries are reviewed by a committee of professors from the department and the winner is presented with a certificate and monetary prize ($300) at the annual initiation ceremony of Phi Sigma Tau, the International Honors Society in Philosophy.

Jerome A. Weinstock (A.B., magna cum laude, Columbia College, 1965; Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University, 1969) was Assisant Professor of Philosophy at Lehman College and a member of the Doctoral Faculty at CUNY Graduate Center. He was the author of several articles in the areas of metaphyics, the philosophy of religion, and the history of philosophy, and was a young philosopher of very substantial promise. He died died prematurely of a heart attack on June 6, 1974, at the age of 30.

The Richard C. Tieger Memorial Award

The Richard C. Tieger Memorial Award is an annual award presented at graduation to deserving students from the Philosophy and Chemistry departments. The award was created by the faculty of Lehman College in honor of Richard C. Tieger (1972-2001) who earned degrees in both chemistry and philosophy from Lehman College and who dreamed of pursuing a Ph.D in philosphy and of teaching philosophy at the college level. At the age of 6 he fought a bout with cancer and received many radiation treatments; in his last semester of study at Lehman he was diagnosed with acute leukemia, from which he died at the age of 28.

Our Books



Our Projects

If you want to know more about Philosophy at Lehman College, check out the links below: